Allegiant by Veronica Roth

AlligiantOk, so if you are anything like me, you have been PATIENTLY (Yeah RIGHT!) waiting for the last installment of the Divergent trilogy since May of 2012 when Insurgent came out!  The need for it was only amped up by the filming of the movie, set for a March 2014 release…with Kate Winslet!! (fangirl squeal!  I LOVE Kate Winslet!!)  Well, I re-read the first two in anticipation of this one.  It had been awhile, after all.  Let me preface my next statement by saying how much I ADORE this series.  Loved it, promoted to my students, was eagerly waiting for the movie…I absolutely HATED this book!!  Hated it!  Now I know, hate is a strong word, but I don’t even feel like Roth wrote this book; it felt so completely different than the other two. At some points she seemed confused about what she was saying, which in turn, confused me.  But I could have gotten through all of that if she wouldn’t have made the cardinal sin of writers!  Ok, if you haven’t read it and intend to, avert your heads now!

 

****SPOILERS!! SPOILERS!! SPOILERS! SPOILERS!! SPOILERS!! SPOILERS! SPOILERS!! SPOILERS!! SPOILERS! SPOILERS!!**** 

Seriously, don’t look if you don’t want to know.

I mean it!

You’ve been warned!!

SHE KILLED TRIS!!!!!  WTH??  Are you kidding me???  And it didn’t even fit with the story.  SO Tris gets through Insurgent and decides she does want to live, and makes it through this death serum and then gets shot???  Oh my lord, it was pointless!  I mean, I can deal with main characters dying if it makes the story work, but NOTHING about this made the story work!  AT ALL!!  And then Tobias was the perpetually whiny one (while Tris was in the last one).  Seriously, like I said, it didn’t even feel like it was written by the same person.  I was HIGHLY disappointed!  I couldn’t stop thinking about it ALL last Friday and then while I was watching a play and then…well, I was mentally exhausted so I had to start another book which I LOVED!  So look for my review of Sarah Maas’s Throne of Glass next!  And maybe bypass Allegiant.  It will only break your heart!!

One thought on “Allegiant by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

